Textured Tiers

June 3, 2008 at 10:10 am (Gemma Wiseman's pics, Gemma Wiseman's poetry, Poetry) (, , )


Pic by Gemma Wiseman ~ Cranbourne Botanical Gardens
~

I wonder
Where is my story
Now
~
Is it lurking in the leaves
Beside me ~
Or is it still bound
In the bough
Ripped
From my heartland
~
And is my
Wandering
Ribbon
Of grey
Still beautiful
To you?
~
In fact
I wonder if my tiers
Of textures
Really have any meaning
At all
Beyond
Old bark
Old wood
Old rings
Of sprung
Time

Permalink Leave a Comment

Pukeko Musings

June 3, 2008 at 9:21 am (Gemma Wiseman's pics, Gemma Wiseman's poetry, Poetry) (, , )


Pic by Gemma Wiseman at Cranbourne Botanical Gardens ~
This striking blue bird is a pukeko. The name is of Maori origin. I had never seen one until I took this pic. The bird is quite common in New Zealand. In other parts of the world it is called a purple swamphen. A crazy feature of this bird ~ it is a rotten flier. It crash lands. When threatened, the pukeko flashes white plumage under its tail. These particular two birds were very hard to photograph. They seemed skitterish and settled only when surrounded by lots of tall swampland grasses.
~

Insects
Frogs
And swampy waters
Are sanctuary
In the pukeko world
Where life is a
Changeless and
Timeless
Microcosm
Of neglected

Shrinking
Edens

Permalink Leave a Comment